Today is Separation Day in Delaware

On June 15, 1776, Delaware proclaimed its independence from both Great Britain and the Penn Family’s Pennsylvania Colony.  This was three weeks before the Continental Congress’ July 4 declaration of independence.  Until June 15, Delaware was considered part of Pennsylvania and known as The Three Lower Counties of New Castle, Kent, and Sussex-upon-Delaware. Thus was born the Delaware State, first among the original 13 states.  Throwing off the shackles of 100 years of Penn family Quaker rule, Delawareans were now free to hunt, fish, drink, and play cards.   I shall celebrate the day by separating tenants from rental properties.  Check out time is 10:00am.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s